From Page to Action: Accountability for the Furthest Left Behind in COVID-19 & Beyond

Launch of the UN Secretary-General’s 2020 Independent Accountability Report for Every Woman Every Child 

13 July 2020

07:45 EDT / 12:45 BST / 13:45 SAST / 20:45 JST

EVENT BACKGROUND

 

The UN Secretary-General’s Independent Accountability Panel for Every Woman Every Child is launching a landmark report entitled Caught in the COVID-19 storm: progress and accountability for women’s, children’s and adolescents’ health in the context of UHC and SDGs  at this year’s High-Level Political Forum (HLPF). 

 

This flagship virtual high-level side event, co-hosted by the Governments of Japan, South Africa and Georgia aims to: 

 

  • Bring visibility to the critical importance of health accountability as a practical tool to ensure countries deliver on the promise of universal health coverage for women, children, adolescents and those furthest left behind—especially as COVID-19 threatens to disrupt progress and reverse the gains
  • Energize and inspire stakeholders to act on the IAP recommendations to strengthen social-political accountability, especially at the country-level, and make health accountability everyone’s business
  • Set the scene and build momentum toward follow-up planned throughout the year, to ensure all add unique value while contributing to a cohesive narrative

 

Co-Organizers: Every Woman Every Child Secretariat, Independent Accountability Panel, International Health Partnership for UHC 2030 (UHC2030) and the Partnership for Maternal, Newborn & Child Health (PMNCH)

 

Livestreamed via UNWebTV

PROGRAM AND SPEAKERS

MODERATOR

Ms. Gillian Tett, Chair of the Editorial Board & Editor-at-Large (US), The Financial Times

07:45 – Part I: Welcome & Scene-Setting

H.E. Mr. Cyril Ramaphosa, President, South Africa

Mr. Shinichi Kitaoka, President, Japan International Cooperation Agency

Dr. Joy Phumaphi, Co-Chair, Independent Accountability Panel for EWEC

08:01 Part II: Core Discussion 

Mr. Elhadj As Sy, Chair of the Board, Kofi Annan Foundation

Ms. Gabriela Cuevas Barron, President, Inter-Parliamentary Union

Dr. Kuat Thi Hai Oanh, Civil Society Engagement Mechanism, UHC2030

08:34 – Part III. Concrete Actions to Advance IAP Report Recommendations

Dr. Natalia Kanem, Executive Director, UNFPA  (on behalf of UN Secretary-General, Mr. Antonio Guterres)

H.E. Mr. Kaha Imnadze, Permanent Representative of Georgia to the UN

H.E. Ms. María Fernanda Espinosa Garcés, UHC Movement Political Advisory Panel, UHC2030 

Ms. Evalin Karijo, Project Director, Youth in Action, Amref Health Africa

08:50 – Part IV: Closing

Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, Director-General, WHO; Chair, H6 Partnership

Rt. Hon. Helen Clark, Former Prime Minister, New Zealand; Board Chair, PMNCH