24 October 2017

World Polio Day

Theme: One Day, One Focus: Ending Polio

Poliomyelitis is a highly infectious disease that most commonly affects children under the age of 5. The virus is spread person to person, typically through contaminated water. It can attack the nervous system, and in some instances, lead to paralysis. Although there is no cure, there is a safe and effective vaccine – one which Rotary and other End Polio Now partners use to immunize over 2.5 billion children worldwide.

Learn more

This year for World Polio Day, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation will co-host the 5th annual Livestream event at their headquarters in Seattle, Washington with one main focus: ending polio, the second human disease in history.  This Day will raise awareness for the importance of the vaccine and its administration among newborns in order to prevent polio and eradicate the disease, once and for all.

Watch the livestream here (17:30 EST/14:30 PDT/21:30 GMT on 24 October)